Found Object Furniture

As part of a sustainable furniture design independent study, I started a short ‘found object’ furniture assignment. I’ll admit, I struggled at the beginning. I wanted to start by ideating using things I ‘thought’ I could find easily. It’s pretty difficult to think of what you can make out of something you don’t have. So, I decided to reorient myself toward sourcing first, and figuring out what to do with it later.

This type of project is right up my alley. I’ve been finding cool parts and pieces for many years and I always wonder what I can make out of them. It’s much different doing a project like this for school than it is while at home over summer break. Here’s why:

  • Most of my connections in Ames live in tiny apartments and travel light, i.e. have little junk they’re willing to give up. At home– tons of junk filled garages and barns.
  • You never seem to find stuff when you’re looking.
  • Where do you store all of these found items?
  • Dumpster diving is hard, messy work

Excuses aside, I found some pretty cool pieces. Some of the most notable include a grocery store aisle marquee, a wooden something-that-looks-like-a-broken-handmade-ladder, and some metal cans. Can’t wait to start fabricating, but for now– sketching will have to do.

Leave a Reply

